Hi! My name's Dora but you can call me a-DORA-ble! I'm a sweet, friendly, 8-year old shepherd-collie mix with no sense of personal space-I want to follow you around and cuddle you super closely. And I love every new human I meet! Even though I'm 8, I'm strong and I have a lot of energy and sometimes act like a hyper puppy! But I'm also happy chilling out and napping (preferably outside-with my big thick coat I like to keep cool). I'm a great guard dog because I love to camp out on the porch and watch the world go by, rain or shine! I have the sensibility of a northern sled dog, so I pull on walks. My harness is helping me learn to walk better and be responsive to my human but I'm still very strong. I'm not very used to city life, and I have no fear of cars. I try to leap after cars, squirrels, and bunnies so I need a strong handler with a firm grip on the leash! I'm the brightest dog you'll ever meet! I can recognize when my leash is about to get tangled on my leg or a pole and will do fancy footwork to fix it. I'm receptive to crate training (I actually learned to sleep in my crate!) and I'm getting used to car rides. Put some high-value treats in there, throw a blanket over it and I'll be just fine to go for a drive. Have I mentioned I love to be outside? I'm very well housetrained and actually only use the bathroom on walks to keep my backyard tidy. Something in my history means I don't get along with other animals, and I have a bit of a prey drive, so I'm an only-animal-home kind of gal. That way I get all the attention to myself! If you need a mouser I'm a pro! I've got a keen nose and always know when there's a critter nearby. I'm an independent spirit and I love diving in ponds and sitting in cold water. I'm not very food-motivated and sometimes need to be coaxed into eating. So I'm looking for someone who can provide me with other forms of enrichment, like affection, places to explore and run around, snow and dirt to dig and roll in, water to run through, and something to guard. I'm not an inner city gal-I prefer to walk through parks and woods rather than city paths and roads. I'd just love a farm, acreage or big fenced back yard with a garage or doghouse to sleep in!
Available for adoption

Fenced yard required

Good with kids ages 10 and up

House trained

No Condo/Apartment Homes

Not good with cats

Not good with other dogs

Single Dog Home

Adopt Me!
Animal Type(s): Dog
Gender: Female
Color: Brown/Black
Approx. date of birth: March 7, 2015
Breed: Shepherd/Mixed Breed (Large)
Weight: 59.3 lbs
Intake date: March 4, 2022
House trained:
Please note: If other cats/dogs in your home are not spayed/neutered, we may deny your application. SCARS exists due to lack of spaying/neutering and it is our goal to end this cycle. If there is a documented medical reason for your animal to not be spayed/neutered, we will work with you.