** Previous experience owning/training Akita's required ** Must have lots of outside time available*** Hi, I'm Arctic. I am a male Akita. I have been with my SCARS fosterhome for four months now and I have to say that I've come a long way. I am fully house trained and once I'm bonded to you I can start to learn and follow commands. However, as true Akita owners know: this takes a while! A long while. But in the end, I am totally worth it! I am full of energy, funny, playful, easy going, and I let out a happy howl when we go for walks - those are my favorites! However, I don't actually walk very well on a leash yet, my foster family says I pull like a team of sled dogs? So that's something I need to continue to work on. I need a large property and/or someone that will take me for long runs, hikes, or other outdoor activities as I have lots of energy to burn! I am a confident dog but I did well with the dogs I have met. I LOVE my foster sister. I get along with her so well and I take a lot of my cues from her so I would need to have a young and playful female dog in my new home to play and run around with: this is a great way for me to burn off some energy. We play for hours and hours! I enjoy playing with toys too. Although I'm not sure why shoes and clothes are not considered toys? Or those gardening tools, buckets, and watering cans that my foster parents leave behind for me in the yard? Those are so fun to play with! I continue to be easily startled by unexpected noises or movements, and once I get startled I get very timid and I am hard to approach, therefore having small children in the home may not be the best idea. I have not lived in a home with children. I am a true Canadian dog, with a thick wintercoat. I love to be outside but I have also learned that it is very nice to be inside where it's warm, to eat my food and sleep safe and sound at night. When I first arrived at my foster home, I continuously tried to bust out of the yard as I was desperate to escape, so it is very important that there are no gaps in the fence that I can escape through, as I certainly will if I get the chance. My new owner will have to be a strong confident dog owner that has previous experience with training Akita's (this is a MUST). I am not food motivated at all, but I do like praise and affection. No home with cats please, those I really just want to chase and eat. I understand that the criteria for me is very specific, but I need to have a home that I fit into. If you meet all the criteria and you think you might be my perfect forever home, please apply to meet me!
Available for adoption

Female Dog in Home Required

Fenced yard required

Good with kids ages 10 and up

No Condo/Apartment Homes

Not good with cats

Adopt Me!
Animal Type(s): Dog
Gender: Male
Color: Brown/White
Approx. date of birth: August 19, 2018
Breed: Mixed Breed (Large)/Akita
Weight: 0 lbs
Intake date: February 12, 2021
House trained:
Please note: If other cats/dogs in your home are not spayed/neutered, we may deny your application. SCARS exists due to lack of spaying/neutering and it is our goal to end this cycle. If there is a documented medical reason for your animal to not be spayed/neutered, we will work with you.